Search Contact Site Map Download News Vicharan Home
Satsang Exams

Video Blessings


Pre-Test Papers
Exam Guidance
Exam Books & Syllabus
Audio Books
Past Papers

As part of the Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha's multifarious socio-spiritual activities, Satsang Examinations have been playing a fundam
ental role in enriching and enlightening thousands of devotees, young and old, with the knowledge of Vedic, cultural and Satsang values. Satsang Examinations were the dream of Yogiji Maharaj, realized through the inspiration and efforts of Pramukh Swami Maharaj.
This program has grown and flourished since 1972 from a tiny seed to a giant banyan.


The Satsang Examinations activity started with 56 centers at its inception in 1972 and today has multiplied to 950 centres in India and abroad. So far, 500,000 have appeared for the graded nine-level Satsang curriculum.


The first exam, Bal Satsang-1, caters to children and ultimately culminates over a period of nine years to Pragna-3, which is equivalent to the post-graduate level. The examinations are set, conducted, and marked with strict academic standards and disciplines. The exams in India are held annually in July whereas the overseas centers - in the UK, France, Italy, Portugal, USA, Canada, Far East, Australia, New Zealand, Middle East and Africa - conduct the exams in February every year.


The exam papers are set in three languages: Gujarati, Hindi and English.

Exam Schedule:

The exams are held annually on every 3rd Sunday of July.

The exams are held annually on every 1st or 2nd Sunday of March. For the March exams pre-test (practice) papers will be available for downloading from January.


Passing Marks:
Prarambh: Ghanshyam Charitra
  Yogiji Maharaj  
  Kishore Satsang Prarambha  
Nilkanth Charitra 68/150
  Satsang Reader Part-1  
  Kishore Satsang Pravesh  

Shastriji Maharaj

Sahajanand Charitra 68/150
  Satsang Reader Part-2  

Kishore Satsang Parichay

  Pragji Bhakta  
Akshar Purushottam Upasana 90/200
  Satsang Reader Part-3  
  Kishore Satsang Pravin  
  Gunatitanand Swami  
  Yug Vibhuti Pramukh Swami Maharaj  
Pragna-1: Two Papers 90/200
Selected Vachanamruts 45/100
  Bhagwan Swaminarayan  
  Dharmik Vidhano ane Bhavanao  
Brahmvidhya na Amulya Grantho 45/100
  Brahmswarup Shastriji Maharaj  
  Selected Swamini Vatos  
Pragna 2: Two Papers 90/200
Selected Vachanamruts 45/100
  Bhagwan Swaminarayan  
  Brahmswarup Yogiji Maharaj  
Brahmvidhya nu Darshan 45/100

Brahmswarup Pragji Bhakta

  Selected Swamini Vatos  
Pragna 3: Two Papers 90/200
Selected Vachanamruts 45/100
  Bhagwan Swaminarayan  
  Brahmaswarup Pramukh Swami Maharaj  
Brahma Vidyano Rajmarg 45/100
  Aksharbrahma Gunatitanand Swami  
  Sanatan Dharma Abhigam  

Grading Scheme
70% or above Distinction
60 - 69% First class
45 - 59% Second class
44% or below Fail

Special Instructions For Pragna Exam Candidates

After passing Pravin Satsang exam, candidates are eligible for appearing in the Pragna Satsang exams. This postgraduate level course comprises of Pragna 1, Pragna 2 and Pragna 3.
Each exam has two papers: Paper 1 and Paper 2. Candidates can appear for both papers in the same year or sit for them in separate years - a maximum of 2 years apart. Thus, if a candidate appears for Paper 1 in year 1, and passes, he must take Paper 2 by year 3.

Candidates who take the Pragna Exam Paper 1 and Paper 2 separately must score a minimum of 45% in both papers to pass. Paper 2 can only be taken if Paper 1 has been passed.
Candidates who appear for both papers in the same year must score a combined minimum of 45% to pass.

| Home | Satsang Exams | Past Papers | Exam Syllabus |